ADMINISTRATION

MIT Corporation

The Institute's board of trustees, known as the MIT Corporation (https://corporation.mit.edu), includes 69 distinguished leaders in engineering, science, industry, education, and other professions. Eight members serve ex officio: the chair of the Corporation, president, executive vice president and treasurer, secretary of the Corporation, president of the MIT Alumni Association, and three representatives of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The Corporation also includes 27 emeritus members. Approximately 83% of the members of the Corporation are MIT alumni.

Between meetings, the Corporation functions through its officers and executive committee. The Corporation also appoints visiting committees, which serve as advisory groups to the Corporation and the administration, offering appraisal of and advice on academic and certain operational units.

Academic and Administrative Organization

The Institute's chief executive officer is the president. Senior academic and administrative officers include the provost; chancellor; executive vice president and treasurer; vice provosts; deans of the schools and college; vice chancellors; vice presidents; chancellor for academic advancement; and director of libraries. For a detailed view of the Institute's organizational structure, see the MIT Organization Chart (http://orgchart.mit.edu).

MIT's academic departments and institutes—each under the leadership of a head or director—are organized within five schools and one college. In addition, numerous interdisciplinary laboratories and centers have been organized to facilitate research in fields that extend across traditional boundaries; administration of each laboratory or center is the responsibility of the faculty member who serves as its director. Research projects sponsored by government, industry, or foundations are administered through the Office of Strategic Alliances & Technology Transfer.

Educational policy for the Institute is determined by the MIT Faculty (as defined by the Rules and Regulations of the Faculty). The Faculty meets monthly during the academic year and conducts much of its business through a number of elected standing committees. The Faculty Policy Committee (FPC), which includes student members, maintains a broad overview of the Institute's academic programs, deals with a wide range of policy issues of concern to the Faculty, and coordinates the work of the Faculty committees. The chair of the Faculty chairs the FPC.